Books To Read If You Liked Euphoria… Sorta

There was a tiktok that went around containing book recommendations for people who liked Euphoria. The creator captioned the post with “this made sense in my head.” My bestie and I, who are big Euphoria fans, decided to read the suggestions together to see if we agreed or not.

1. The Dangers of Smoking in Bed by Marana Enriquez
I’m not sure that this recommendation relates to Euphoria specifically, honestly, but I did appreciate its uniqueness. The author writes standalone stories that all have some sort of supernatural, voodoo, or superstitious element. While some stories are more intriguing than others, they are all relatively quick and easy reads. I found this book somewhat eerie, but still kinda cool nonetheless.

2. Bunny by Mona Awad
Okay, this book was super weird but seriously so freaking good. Again, I truly have no idea why the creator linked this book to Euphoria, but I was happy to be led here either way. This had some element of a sorority cult mixed with a little bit of supernatural abilities and a ton of chaos. The entire time I was reading this book, I just kept thinking “this is so weird”. but I still couldn’t put it down. It may not be for everyone.. but I would say not to sleep on this one.

3. Acts of Desperation by Megan Nolan
I do actually understand why this book was linked with Euphoria, mostly for it’s themes around alcoholism. But also for the obsession around the relationship, which could be compared to the way Rue sees Jules. The dynamic hurt my heart, but was also pathetic, even though often unfortunately relatable. The exploration over this wildly desperate desire to be loved is poetic in a way that I never want to experience firsthand. Even though I spent most of the book feeling sorry for the main character, I actually still liked it. However, please know before reading that it should come with a trigger warning for eating disorders and self harm.

Other: Everything I Know About Love by Dolly Alderton
I didn’t read this one, because my sister did read it and lowkey told me that it wasn’t completely worth it. The book says a lot of things about love but it basically boils down to the fact that you need to have amazing friends in life that you love rather than a boyfriend. Seems pretty obvious to me, so we went ahead and skipped this one. Also, still not sure how this is linked to Euphoria…

So, thank you to the Tiktoker @loverofpages for the book recommendations, but I’m not sure if I completely followed the Euphoria links to these books from the show.

Thanks for reading!

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s